On July 1 it won't matter if you are 19 or 89 in Tennessee and try to buy beer in a grocery or convenience store. No ID, no beer.
Tennessee is the first state in the nation to require clerks to ask for identification from all buyers of beer at off-premise locations. Called the Tennessee Responsible Vendor Act, the bill is designed to cut underage drinking. Amazingly, the legislation does not cover the sale of wine or liquor. Beer sales at restaurants and bars are also not covered.
Some stores have already adopted the universal carding program. Forty-something men and women needing an ego boost may flock to Tennessee to buy beer, but it is no laughing matter for store operators. Tennessee has instituted a training program for store managers and clerks. Beer sellers face fines of $1,000 for each underage sales. Repeat offenders can be fined up to $2,500 and have their alcohol sales license suspended.